Buyer's Guide
Are there sauna heaters and wood stoves made in Canada?
Yes. Homecraft builds the electric heater we'd buy in BC, and three Ontario shops make wood stoves. We also cover which Finnish and Estonian heaters Canadian builders ship, and why.

Yes, five Canadian companies make them, and the electric heater we'd buy is Homecraft's Revive, built in British Columbia and certified for sale here. Wood stoves come from Henki and Fenno in Ontario and from LeisureCraft, the sauna maker, though Henki and Fenno each say their own stoves carry no certification. That gap is a big reason Canadian sauna builders still fit Finnish and Estonian heaters, and we'll show you which ones they use.
Five Canadian companies build sauna heaters
Three of them make electric heaters and three make wood stoves, with Fenno in both camps. We've listed every Canadian-built heater we could price, with the certification each maker states.
| Heater | Maker, built in | Type | Output or room size | Certification the maker states | Price (CAD) | Where we priced it |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revive | Homecraft, BC | Electric | 6–9 kW | ETL to UL 875, CSA C22.2 No. 164 | $2,450–$3,148 | Henki |
| Revive Slim | Homecraft, BC | Electric | 5–6 kW | ETL to UL 875, CSA C22.2 No. 164 | $2,220–$2,703 | Henki |
| Apex | Homecraft, BC | Electric | 10–15 kW | ETL to UL 875, CSA C22.2 No. 164 | $2,975–$4,920 | Henki |
| W-Series wall heater | Fenno, Markham, ON | Electric | 6 or 9 kW | CSA | $982–$1,228 | Fenno |
| Electric heater | Saunacore, Toronto area, ON | Electric | 6–9 kW | CSA | $1,800–$2,200 | Kodiak Saunas |
| H1 | Henki, Ontario | Wood, fed from outside | Rooms up to 18 m³ (650 cu ft) | None, Henki says | $1,799 | Henki |
| H2 | Henki, Ontario | Wood | Rooms up to 23 m³ (800 cu ft) | None, Henki says | $2,499 | Henki |
| WB series | Fenno, Markham, ON | Wood | Several sizes | None, Fenno says | $935–$1,450 | Fenno |
| TimberGlow14 | LeisureCraft, Ontario | Wood | Up to 90 kg (200 lb) of stones | Not stated | $2,696–$3,240 | Henki |
Prices read Oct 10, 2026, before stones, shipping and tax unless a listing says otherwise; Henki's stove prices include the chimney. Homecraft and Saunacore publish no prices, so we priced them from the Canadian dealers named. Fenno's Markham build comes from the Made in CA directory for its electric heaters and from Fenno for its wood heaters.
Homecraft's Revive is the Canadian electric heater to buy
Buy the Revive if you're heating a typical backyard barrel or cabin. It comes in 6 to 9 kW with a deep basket of stone, and more hot stone means more steam from every ladle. Homecraft lists it as ETL-listed to UL 875 and certified to CSA C22.2 No. 164. Homecraft's manuals say it designs and builds every heater and control system in-house, which makes the Revive about as Canadian as an electric heater gets.
The Revive Slim suits a small room or a tight corner, and the Apex covers the biggest rooms Homecraft makes heaters for. Nootka puts a Revive in its Cube, and Copperwood offers Homecraft heaters in its Alberta barrels.
The weak spot is buying one. Homecraft sells through dealers and posts no prices, so we priced the range at Henki. Homecraft also doesn't say where its stainless steel comes from.
Where to buy
Fenno and Saunacore cost less
Fenno's W-Series is the cheapest Canadian electric heater we've found, at about $1,000 for the 6 kW from the factory. It's CSA approved, runs a simple thermostat and timer on the unit, and comes from a Markham shop that says it has made sauna heaters since 1944. You order it by phone or email.
Saunacore builds CSA-certified heaters in the Toronto area and sells mostly through dealers. Kodiak Saunas carries one at 6 to 9 kW without naming the model, so ask which one you're getting before you pay.
Where to buy
Henki builds a stove you feed from outside the sauna
Henki builds the H1 and H2 in Ontario from thick plate steel. You feed the H1 through the wall from outside, so you never carry wood or ash through the sauna. Both prices include the chimney, and the H2 holds four times the stone, which gives each ladle more stored heat to turn into steam.
Henki says its stoves carry no certification, and it points buyers to a WETT inspector to approve the install. Your insurer will likely want that inspection too, so book it before the first fire.
Where to buy
Fenno's WB is the cheapest wood heater built here
Fenno's WB wood heaters start under $1,000 from the factory, with a cast iron grate and an optional stainless water tank on the bigger models. Fenno's own page tells buyers to install them under Ontario's guide for uncertified wood-heating units, so talk to your building inspector and your insurer first.
Where to buy

Fenno Heaters & Stoves
Fenno WB Series Woodburning Sauna Heater
Built in Markham, Ontario
LeisureCraft builds the TimberGlow for its own saunas
LeisureCraft makes one heater, the TimberGlow14, for buyers of its Ontario-built saunas. It takes long logs and carries up to 90 kg (200 lb) of stones, so check the floor can bear it. LeisureCraft doesn't name a test standard or a steel source, and Henki prices it by whether the chimney exits the roof or a wall.
Where to buy

LeisureCraft Heaters & Stoves
LeisureCraft TimberGlow14 Wood Burning Sauna Heater
Built in Canada by LeisureCraft, which manufactures in Melancthon, Ontario
Which imported heaters Canadian builders ship
Plenty of saunas built in Canada arrive with a heater from Finland or Estonia. Harvia's wood and electric heaters turn up most, and HUUM's Estonian heaters are a common electric choice. We've listed what each builder in our catalogue offers.
| Builder | Electric heater | Wood stove |
|---|---|---|
| Nootka (BC) | Homecraft Revive in the Cube; Nootka-branded 7.5 or 9 kW in the barrels | Harvia M3, Finland |
| Copperwood (AB) | Homecraft, BC | An unbranded stove kit |
| Northern Lights (MB) | Saunacore SE, Ontario | Timberline, maker not stated |
| Bramari (AB) | Harvia KIP, Finland, or HUUM Drop, Estonia | Offered on the Mökki |
| BnB Barrels (AB) | Harvia or HUUM, or an unbranded 9 kW | Offered |
| Coldture (ON) | HUUM, Estonia | Narvi NC16, Finland |
| True North (ON) | Harvia KIP and Cilindro, Finland | COZY, which US retailers describe as made in Estonia; Harvia M3 |
| SaunaSpa (QC) | SaunaSpa's own 8 kW, maker not stated | Harvia M3 or Spirit, Finland |
| Bunkie Life (ON) | None | Harvia M3, Finland |
| Forest Cooperage (BC) | Harvia, Finland, or Tylö, Sweden | Offered on request |
From each builder's product pages and FAQs, read Oct 10, 2026. Country is where the builder or a retailer says the heater's brand is from; most don't say which factory built a given heater.
Why so many Canadian saunas still ship with a Finnish stove
Certification is most of the answer for wood heat. Henki and Fenno each say their own stoves are uncertified, LeisureCraft names no standard for the TimberGlow, and Northern Lights says its Timberline stove isn't CSA approved. Nootka's FAQ, by contrast, calls the Harvia M3 UL-listed, which is why it ships a Finnish stove in its wood-fired barrels.
Electric heat is different. Homecraft, Saunacore and Fenno all state Canadian marks on their electric heaters, and several builders already fit them, so a buyer who wants a sauna Canadian down to the heater can have one.
Certification decides what you can install
An electric heater sold in Canada needs a mark from an accredited certifier, such as CSA, cUL or cETL, and your electrician will look for it before connecting anything. Ontario's Electrical Safety Authority lists the marks it accepts. A heater carrying only a US mark can stall the inspection.
Wood stoves are messier. None of the Canadian-built stoves we've read about states a North American listing, so their installs go through a WETT-certified inspector, who checks the clearances and the chimney. Your insurer will usually want that report, and some municipalities ask for a permit as well.
Size the heater to the room, then plan the circuit
Makers rate heaters by room volume. Homecraft rates the 9 kW Revive for about 13 m³ (450 cu ft), and glass doors or uninsulated walls push you up a size. Measure the inside of the room, multiply it out and choose the heater whose range covers it with room to spare.
Then talk to an electrician about the panel. Homecraft calls for a 30- or 40-amp breaker on the Revive Slim, 40 or 50 on the Revive, and up to 80 amps for the biggest Apex, all at 240V and hardwired. Older homes don't always have that much spare capacity.
How did we choose these heaters?
We only list heaters whose makers say they build them here, plus Fenno's electric heaters, which the Made in CA directory places in Markham, and each product page links the source. For this guide we went through the makers' pages, manuals and FAQs and every sauna builder's heater options on Oct 10, 2026, and priced Homecraft and LeisureCraft at Henki and Saunacore at Kodiak Saunas. None of these makers says where its steel comes from, so none sorts into the top group on our method page.
Common questions
- Are there sauna heaters made in Canada?
- Yes. Homecraft builds electric sauna heaters in British Columbia, and Saunacore and Fenno build them in Ontario. Homecraft lists its Revive, Revive Slim and Apex as ETL-listed to UL 875 and certified to CSA C22.2 No. 164.
- Are there wood-burning sauna stoves made in Canada?
- Yes. Henki and Fenno build wood-burning sauna stoves in Ontario, and LeisureCraft makes the TimberGlow14 for its own saunas. Henki and Fenno each say their stoves are uncertified, so plan on a WETT inspection.
- Do Canadian sauna builders use Canadian heaters?
- Some do. Nootka ships a Homecraft Revive in its Cube, Copperwood offers Homecraft heaters and Northern Lights fits a Saunacore heater. Many others fit Harvia heaters from Finland or HUUM heaters from Estonia.
- Does a wood-burning sauna stove need certification in Canada?
- Not always. Henki and Fenno sell their Canadian-built stoves as uncertified, and those installations are usually approved by a WETT-certified inspector. Nootka says the Harvia M3 it ships is UL-listed. Check with your insurer and your municipality before you install any wood stove.
We review from makers’ documentation, owner reports and published research. How we choose products and write reviews.










